G.O.O.D. Music’s highly anticipated debut compilation album “Cruel Summer” finally hits shelves worldwide.

G.O.O.D. Music’s mastermind, the Chicago native and rap icon, Kanye West, founded the label in 2004. Soon after, West signed singer/songwriter, John Legend, and lyricist/actor, Common, who is also from Chicago. A few years later in 2007, West added the heavyweights, KiD CuDi and Big Sean. Fast forward to today and the rap/r&b super label now stands with 13 artists who are all capable of going platinum and filling up large venues.

Between the artists Common and KiD CuDi, the label has eight Grammy nominations and four Gold records. Add to that the likes of John Legend, who’s debut album alone went two times Platinum and won three Grammy’s. It is safe to say Yeezy is very selective of who he brings on board.

Other rap labels like Maybach Music Group and Young Money have proven making a compilation album is a daunting task . Selfmade and Selfmade 2 sold for a combined $441, 206 thus far. Young Money’s, “We Are Young Money,” received mixed reviews from many critics.

Whether it may be the outfit he’s wearing, a beat he makes, a video he produces or a song he rhymes, everything the man touches turns to gold. Many think that with West running the show, “Cruel Summer’ could be the first rap compilation album to go Platinum. Only problem is, we’ve heard these songs before. The album consists of only 12 tracks, 6 of which have already been released on purpose or unintentionally. The album delays allowed many fans to grow tired of songs that were released in the prior months and are hungry for new material.  Today, we will see if G.O.O.D. things really do come to those that wait.


Tracklisting :

 01. Kanye West and R. Kelly: “To the World”

02. Kanye West, Jay-Z, and Big Sean: “Clique”

03. Kanye West, Big Sean, PushaT, and 2 Chainz: “Mercy”

04. Kanye West, PushaT, and GhostfaceKillah: “New God Flow”

05. Raekwon, Pusha-T, Common, 2 Chainz, Cyhi the Prynce, Kid Cudi, and D’Banj: “The Morning”

06. DJ Khaled: “Cold”

07. The Dream, PushaT, and Ma$e: “Higher”

08. John Legend, Travi$ Scott, Teyana Taylor, Cyhi the Prynce, and Malik Yusef: “Sin City”

09. Kanye West, Big Sean, 2 Chainz, and Marsha Ambrosius: “The One”

10. Kid Cudi: “Creepers”

11. John Legend and Teyana Taylor: “Bliss”

12. Kanye West, Chief Keef, PushaT, Big Sean, and Jadakiss: “Don’t Like[one_third last=”no”]…[/one_third]

Follow Justin Miles Twitter/Instagram: @therager26