BUnow News


Entertainment Sports

Super Bowl LIV recap, NFL Honor Awards, and more

Super Bowl MVP Patrick Mahomes raising the Vince Lombardi Trophy.

To conclude the NFL’s 100th season the Kansas City Chiefs ended their 50-year championship drought after defeating the San Francisco 49ers. The final scorer was 31-20. The Chiefs, led by coach Andy Reid and their superstar quarterback Patrick Mahomes, finished the regular season 12-4. They were the second seed in the AFC. The 49ers finished 13-3 and were the top seed in the NFC.

This game was one of the more exciting Super Bowls in a while. It had explosive offensive plays, dominant defense at times and a few lead changes. The 49ers held a 21-10 lead with over six minutes remaining. Patrick Mahomes connected with wide receiver Tyreek Hill on a critical third down, that led to a touchdown. This cut their deficit to four. Then the Chiefs marched down the field again and scored another touchdown. This time it was to running back Damien Williams with two minutes left to give them the go ahead score. The 49ers failed a fourth down attempt with under two minutes to go, and the Chiefs ran in another game sealing touchdown.

The Super Bowl Most Valuable Player award was given to quarterback Patrick Mahomes. At just 24 years old, he becomes the youngest player to ever receive the award. Mahomes put up 286 passing yards, two passing touchdowns and a rushing touchdown. The head coach for the Chiefs, Andy Reid, also won his first Super Bowl, despite being a head coach for over 20 years. He spent 15 years in Philadelphia with the Eagles, and the last seven with the Chiefs.

NFL Honor Awards

The NFL honor awards are held the Saturday before the Super Bowl every year. This is an annual event where a lot of players and coaches, past and present, gather to give out the seasons top awards.

Lamar Jackson won MVP unanimously. He is the second player in NFL history to do so, with Tom Brady being the first. The Baltimore Ravens quarterback was not only a prolific passer, but was unstoppable on the ground. He broke Michael Vick’s single season quarterback rushing record. Jackson’s head coach John Harbaugh won NFL coach of the year after leading his Ravens team to a 14-2 record.

Saints’ wide receiver Michael Thomas won offensive player of the year, and Stephon Gilmore from the New England Patriots won defensive player of the year.

During the NFL honors, they also announce the next NFL Hall of Fame class that will be enshrined in Canton, Ohio in August. Notable players include Broncos safety Steve Atwater, Steelers legend Troy Polamalu, and Issac Bruce. They also named players and coaches as part of the centennial class to celebrate 100 years of the NFL. Notable players and coaches include Eagles wide receiver Harold Carmichael, two-time Super Bowl winning coach of the Dallas Cowboys, Jimmie Johnson, and Steelers former head coach Bill Cowher.