BUnow News



Penguins Defeat Sharks; Win Fourth Stanley Cup

On Sunday night, the Pittsburgh Penguins captured their fourth Stanley Cup Championship after defeating the San Jose Sharks in Game 6. The score was 3-1.

Pittsburgh’s title comes exactly seven years after their last Stanley Cup win on June 12, 2009.

Captain Sidney Crosby was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the MVP of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. He was also the first player to hoist the Cup; beginning the celebration.

The Penguins’ championship comes after some early season struggles that included a coaching change. New, young talent had to help turn things around for the Pens.

On the other hand, the Sharks had reached the Stanley Cup Final for the first time ever in franchise history and gave the Pens a good run for their money.

Now that the NHL’s season has come to an end, the focus shifts to the NHL Entry Draft on June 24 and 25 as well as to free agency beginning on July 1.