BUnow News



NHL Awards Finalists Shaping Up

In the midst of the Stanley Cup Playoffs, nominees for each of the National Hockey League’s regular season awards have come to light. From best goaltender to leading goal-scorer, many stars will receive high honors when the 2017 NHL Awards are announced on June 21 in Las Vegas. Check out the list of finalists in major categories:

Vezina Trophy: Best Goaltender

  • Sergei Bobrovsky: Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Braden Holtby: Washington Capitals
  • Carey Price: Montreal Canadiens

Calder Trophy: Rookie of the Year

  • Auston Matthews: Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Patrik Laine: Winnipeg Jets
  • Zach Werenski: Columbus Blue Jackets

James Norris Memorial Trophy: Best Defenseman

  • Brent Burns: San Jose Sharks
  • Victor Hedman: Tampa Bay Lightning
  • Erik Karlsson: Ottawa Senators

Selke Trophy: Best Defensive Forward

  • Patrice Bergeron: Boston Bruins
  • Ryan Kesler: Anaheim Ducks
  • Mikko Koivu: Minnesota Wild

Hart Memorial Trophy: League MVP

  • Connor McDavid: Edmonton Oilers
  • Sidney Crosby: Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Sergei Bobrovsky: Columbus Blue Jackets

It’s a ways off yet but make sure to tune in to the NHL Awards on June 21 to see who wins the above awards and many more.