BUnow News



Brady and Belichick lead Patriots to fourth Super Bowl title

In Super Bowl XLIX, the New England Patriots overcame a ten-point deficit in the fourth quarter to defeat the Seattle Seahawks, 28-24. The Patriots won their first NFL Championship since 2004, when they defeated the Philadelphia Eagles in Jacksonville. This also marks the franchises fourth Super Bowl title with head coach Bill Belichick and quarterback Tom Brady at the controls. As for the defending champion Seahawks, there would be no repeat in Glendale.

Tom Brady was voted as the game’s Most Valuable Player for the third time. Despite throwing two interceptions, Brady threw the ball 50 times and set a Super Bowl record with 37 completions. He finished the game by throwing for 328-yards and four touchdowns. He broke the previous mark of 34, which was set a year ago by Peyton Manning. Not to mention, he also broke Joe Montana’s record for the most touchdown passes in Super Bowl history with 13.

Julian Edelman made nine receptions for 109-yards. Edelman also caught what proved to be the game winning touchdown from three-yards out. Running back Shane Vereen was the Patriots leading receiver. Vereen made 11 catches for 64-yards. He ended up breaking Joseph Addai’s record for receptions by a running back in a Super Bowl. Rob Gronkowski, Brandon LaFell, and Danny Amendola also made touchdown receptions.

Russell Wilson completed 12 of 21 passes for 247-yards and two touchdowns. Wilson also gained 39-yards rushing on three carries. His leading receiver was Chris Matthews. Prior to this game, Matthews never made a single reception in the NFL. In the Super Bowl, he caught four passes for 109-yards, including an 11-yard touchdown reception. Marshawn Lynch carried 24 times for 102-yards and scored on a three-yard run.

Edelman’s touchdown gave New England a four point lead with just over two minutes remaining. When the Seahawks got the ball back, Wilson led an improbable 79-yard drive. With 20 seconds remaining, Wilson’s pass, which was intended for Ricardo Lockette, was intercepted by rookie cornerback Malcolm Butler. The interception was the first of Butler’s career, but he made the play that saved the game.

The Patriots tied the record for the largest deficit ever overcome to win a Super Bowl. The last team to accomplish that feat was the Washington Redskins, when they beat the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XXII. When the 2015 NFL season kicks off, the Patriots will begin a quest to defend their title. Next season’s Super Bowl will take place at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, CA.

NFL: Super Bowl XLIX-New England Patriots vs Seattle Seahawks