A Series of Unfortunate Events TV Show

PX*2101218The book series of A Series of Unfortunate Events is becoming a television show on Netflix starring Neil Patrick Harris.

For those of you who don’t know, A Series of Unfortunate Events is about three siblings, the Baudelaires, who have to live with their evil uncle after their mansion set on fire, killing their parents. The children escape Count Olaf, their uncle, but he’s always a step behind them.

There are 13 books of A Series of Unfortunate Events. They include:

1. The Bad Beginning

2. The Reptile Room

A Series of Unfortunate Events. Complete set of 13 volumes + Promotional Items [SIGNED BY HELQUIST AND INSCRIBED BY SNICKET] by Snicket, Lemony (Author); Brett Helquist (Illustrator)

3. The Wide Window

4. The Miserable Mill

5. The Austere Academy

6. The Ersatz Elevator

7. The Vile Village

8. The Hostile Hospital

9. The Carnivorous Carnival

10. The Slippery Slope

11. The Grim Grotto

12. The Penultimate Peril

13. The End

Lemony-Snicket-DIThere was a movie made based on the books on Dec. 17, 2004. It starred Jim Carey as Count Olaf. The television show will have Harris as Count Olaf. According to The Verge, Netflix committed for an entire season. Lemony Snicket, the author of the books, will be the executive producer of the show.

Plugged In thinks A Series of Unfortunate Events has a good message for kids: “A Series of Unfortunate Events speaks directly to children, telling them that they can overcome anything that goes wrong. Surrounded by terrible circumstances far beyond the reality faced by most children, the Baudelaires band together, reach deep inside for strength and refuse to succumb.”

If families, friends, and/or siblings stick together, they can conquer their problems and fears. If you turn on each other, things will most likely go terribly wrong.

If you don’t know much about A Series of Unfortunate Events, you should get on board and give it a chance; it’s a great series and the show should be interesting.