Bloomsburg University to Host NCAA Division II Field Hockey Championships




Story by Sports Information


                  BLOOMSBURG—Bloomsburg University will serve as the host of the 2008 NCAA Division II field hockey championship final four on Friday, November 14 and Sunday, Nov. 16.

                  The Huskies, 21-1 and the top seed from the South Region, will get a first round bye. Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 14-2, will host Shippensburg University in the South region first-round contest at 7 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, November 8.  The winner will advance to play Bloomsburg.  

                  Bentley University, 17-5, is the top seed in the North Region and will also receive a first round bye. Third seeded Southern Connecticut State University (13-9) will travel to the University of Massachusetts at Lowell (18-4) for a first-round contest at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, November 8.  The winner will meet Bentley in a semifinal match-up. 

                  Semifinals will be played Friday, November 14, at 3 p.m. and 5:30 p.m., with the championship final Sunday, November 16, at 1 p.m.  All games will be played at Bloomsburg University Sports Stadium on the campus of Bloomsburg.

                  Bloomsburg has won back-to-back NCAA championships, five of the last six and nine of the last 12. The Huskies will be hosting the NCAA Division II championships for the first time since the 1999 season when it beat Bentley, 2-0.